Today I woke up and went to work for a 6-hour shift at Target and then after that I went home and did a mile walk and then went to yoga, where I finally got to relax for a little bit (and I really needed that bc target was stressful today; someone literally said that “all the cashiers here are so rude” to their friend right in front of my face, like, what is that? you’re being rude right now, pal)

Yoga was really great tonight. The class I went to was called “Feel Good Friday Flow” and it was a mildly hot class (I’ve never done a hot yoga class, so it felt pretty hot to me, but it was actually pretty low temp for a hot yoga class; the heat was only on to like 80 degrees Fahrenheit). And it felt like everything negative just completely melted away.

I cannot stress enough how great it felt to just go to the studio and sweat.

On the way home from yoga, I really got to thinking about how so many people are in such a rush going from one thing to the next that they don’t get a chance to justĀ be. It’s like everyone in the world is rushing to catch up and keep up with everyone else, but no one wants to be moving as fast as they are, so what’s the point?

I can’t pretend that I don’t do this. Believe me, if you saw my Google calendar, you’d think I was a hypocrite. Like, there are days where I go from one job to the gym then to another job with barely any time between, days when I’m moving from 7 am until 10 pm pretty much nonstop, and the training program I’m getting ready to start is definitely going to keep me moving even more.

But I’ve also been working on getting into the habit of resting deeply when I have a moment. Doing yoga is one way that I do this. By taking an hour or two to focus on my breathing and practice yoga, I get in tune with my body and am able to release all the negativity and stress that being constantly on can cause.

I also try to do this by taking a few moments at the end of every day to write down (1) something I am grateful for and (2) something I love about myself. This way I always take a moment to be present in my life as it is right now. It’s one of my new years intentions to practice mindfulness more, and this is a nice little way to make sure I follow through on that. And, let me tell you, doing it has given me more peace of mind than I’ve had in a very long time, and I feel healthier in more ways than one because of these little things I’m doing on a regular basis.

Living a happier, healthier life doesn’t have to be a full-time endeavor. Just taking the time to write down something you’re grateful for or something you love about yourself at the end of the day, spending an hour in a yoga class, or even walking a mile is a great way to take care of yourself.

