via Daily Prompt: Shine

Today, I’m going to write something based on the Daily Prompt’s one-word writing prompts each day.

The prompt was simple: Shine.

And it made me think of a song I’ve been hearing a lot on the radio lately, called “Shine” and performed by LOLO¬†(hyperlink goes to lyrics and the audio from the song). It’s on her album¬†In Loving Memory of When I Gave a Sh*t, which I really appreciated.

I kind of love the song: her voice is powerful and the message is positive. What else do you need in a song?

But anyway, that’s actually not what I’m going to write about (I mean, it’s tangentially related to what I’m writing, but not the main focus of this post).

Last night (or, rather, early this morning) I received an email that someone had posted a comment on one of my posts, “#FoodForThoughtFriday: The F-Word,” and the comment was, like, really ridiculous. It had been posted anonymously, but linked back to a wordpress-created site and was about “Boycotting American Women” because they are “generally immature, selfish, extremely arrogant and self-centered, mentally unstable, irresponsible, and highly unchaste.” BTW, this site is called “BoycottBitches.com,” and you can type that into your address bar and see for yourself exactly what the comment said because it was just the description of that site copied and pasted.

Now, I can’t say if the person who posted the comment anonymously was actually the owner of the website or if someone copied and pasted it from the website, but the comment was actually not there when I woke up this morning, so I didn’t have the opportunity to respond, which is probably for the best, because I would have probably written a long comment about how the anonymous author was obviously afraid of women with confidence and those who know what they want, and would never find love in the 21st century because of that. Not to mention that they were barking up the wrong tree by posting it on my page, because (1) I literally just started this and probably no one reads it (2) people who do read it are likely already feminists or already anti-feminist (3) I don’t care if men don’t want to date me because I’ve got more important things to do with my life, like empowering people to fight back against ridiculous societal standards (and also don’t want to date men bc I’m p gay).

So, how does this relate to the prompt of “Shine” ??

Because I’m going to rise above the hate and shine. [Eww that was really cliched]

I mean, honestly, I’m a little bit flattered that someone saw my post and thought they needed to try to tear me down.

Don’t let anyone tell you who to be. Don’t let anyone tell you what to do. Don’t let anyone tear you down.

You do you. Shine your light. Let your freak flag fly.

You don’t need permission or approval to be you.

